Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the only reason to learn a foreign language is in order to travel or work in overseas countries. However, others claim that these are not the only causes for learning a foreign language. I agree with this statement that there are other reasons to acquire a language. On the one hand, supporters of learning a foreign language owing to travel or work assert that this is the only prime cause. To begin with, taking the initiative to obtain an occupation in a foreign country, these individuals are required to take in a new language. That is to say, not only does it make meet their needs of the new society, but also it assists them to survive the keen competition in the labor market. Furthermore, traveling to overseas countries, they need to know a foreign language and their basic conversations in the local language to communicate with native speakers. This can make International travels easier and more pleasant. On the other hand, others put forward the argument that traveling or working is not the only cause why someone learns foreign languages. The most axiomatic cause can be their academic purposes. In other words, showing a tendency to receive tertiary education abroad, the majority of people need a foreign language for their academic purposes. Therefore, they can acquire language proficiency, which is useful for either academic or professional progress. Moreover, having a positive impact on people's memory, learning a foreign language is more likely to increase focus and impede diseases like Alzheimer's. To conclude, there are logical points on both sides; however, I am of the opinion that travel or work is not the only reason that some people acquire a foreign language and there are other causes.