Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers?

Genetic engineering is the practice of manipulating the genes of an organism. It has always been a controversial topic of the advantages of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of genetic engineering as well as argue why this aspect of science is more beneficial than harmful to society.  The manipulation of the genes of an organism (especially crops and plants) is a rapidly growing trend and this is a result of the benefits it provides mankind. Firstly, this technology can be used to produce crops that are more resistant to insects and diseases. These foods grow quickly and come out more nutritious than their counterparts. Additionally, some drugs and vaccines are produced by a gene mutation. For example, the bacteria Escherichia Coli can be altered to form antibiotics which improve the human immune system. On the other hand, if this technology falls into the wrong hands it could pose a great danger to mankind. Humans' DNA could be altered to suit certain standards and society and human evolution could change completely. For instance, soldiers could be cloned from the DNA of the strongest people and this could result in clones being used as robots to do certain jobs. Another disadvantage is that DNA mutation is against many religious beliefs and is therefore considered unethical. Human genetic engineering is currently prohibited in the world and the benefits that the technology can provide in livestock and crops rearing are highly advantageous for humans. In conclusion, the benefits of genetic alteration outweigh the harmful effects in our present world.