Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

There is an increase in homelessness in many big cities around the globe. I think that the high unemployment and housing affordability are the main drivers of this problem and suggest the improvement in employment opportunities and strict housing regulations as the most viable solutions. The main causes of homelessness in major cities are unemployment and housing affordability. On the one hand, decent, stable jobs are important to support people's ability to purchase necessary goods to live their lives, including houses. On the other hand, there is an ongoing trend that shows the price of houses in big cities is not compatible with the people's ability to purchase. Therefore, these problems intertwine and create homelessness problems in many cities. For example, in many cities in Indonesia, the increase in housing prices greatly surpasses the minimum wage's growth in the last 20 years. Solutions to these problems are new job opportunities and more strict housing laws. To absorb many unemployed into the workforce, states must implement various strategies to create quality jobs that allow people to receive decent salaries. Moreover, this effort must be complemented with more strict housing laws to regulate the housing market by making sure the prices of houses are compatible with the economic conditions of the people. For instance, recent studies show that after implementing strict rent laws, many big cities in Europe saw a decrease in homelessness due to the lower price of housing in their cities. In conclusion, the main problems with the increase in homelessness are the people's inability to get jobs and more expensive houses. These can be solved through state intervention in job creation and strict housing regulations.