With the recent development in technology like e-books, some people feel that the printed media like books, newspapers and magazine will soon be a thing of the past. What is your opinion?

Due to technological advancement, it is argued that digitized media will replace printed media and will eliminate this media soon. However, from my point of view, it is an illogical opinion as paper books have been dominated for centuries. On one hand, there are several reasons why publishers are now implementing a long term strategy to promote digital texts over printed versions. Firstly, it is because e- books are easy to store and readers can download many books to their devices while printed media are limited to booklovers due to higher cost and space. Secondly, digital books are easily transferable between users and can be stored for ages, whereas, books are inconvenient to carry around and they deteriorate with time. Last but not least, e- books are widely available to international readers. At the same time, printed books are finite stocks. On the other hand, printed materials are still preferred by monopolizing most of the readers around the world. Certain reasons are because people enjoy the authentic pleasure of reading, feeling its weight and flipping through pages and we cannot obtain this feeling from e- books. Moreover, the flicker and glare of many screens are stressful and tiring for our eyes and brains. In contrast, books are less damaging to us and are very reliable since they do not require electronic devices. In addition, people can have more concentration on printed media as it does not disrupt our ability to locate information in a long text,unlike digital books. In conclusion, although some readers engage with digital texts more productively, I personally believe that printed texts will never be a thing of the past.