Some people prefer to develop a large social circle, whereas others prefer to have a few close relationships. Discuss the advantages of both. Then state which situation you prefer and why.

Choosing how many friends to have may be a difficult decision everybody faces. Having large social circles is an issue which brings benefits such as getting access to more opportunities, as well as drawbacks including the lack of confidence within. The main advantage of belonging to big groups is the increase in chances such as job offers and all kinds of information. As more people are known through the circle, it is more likely to find someone who could be interested in the talent of a person. There could be, for example, the case where an English teacher gets to a school director who is looking for a replacement. Apart from that, diversifying the social links is also important for human development. In the way of hanging out with many others, an individual has been listening to different views of the world, different life’s living experiences, among other teachings. On the other hand, the benefit of having few networks and close relationships is the high levels of confidence members might develop with each other. Depending on what is crucial for a person, some may prefer to be part of groups where they feel secure about what is said or done within the circle. Usually, this will be more fundamental if the person is older and is not looking for friends to spend the weekend. This can apply also for anyone who in the past has come through bad situations and now is trying to be around people who might give them support. In conclusion, expanding the social spaces where a person could socialize allows to find windows of access to professional possibilities which could be hard to find; however, maintaining close relationships can enforce the confidence in a more desirable form within the group.