Explain some of the ways in which human are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual do?

Nowadays, people are destroying the environment through different means. Air and water pollution are some of those harms which are caused by human activities. This essay will discuss some practical actions for solving this issue such as legislating laws and individuals’ actions. Air and water pollution appear to be two of the most significant reasons of environmental destruction. There are many causes for air pollution but the major reason is using of fossil fuel in cars, trucks and factories. As a result, liquids and solid particles are suspended in the air and air pollution happens. Furthermore, water pollution is caused when water is contaminated due to many factors such as oil leakage during oil production in seas. Nevertheless, there are some actions which can be taken by governments and individuals to solve these problems. Two possible solutions are moving from petroleum products like gasoline or natural gas to clean energies and limiting oil stains. In order to reduce air pollution, governments can legislate laws to restrict fossil fuel consumption. For example, according to the United States’ laws, factories are being enforced to use power or solar energies instead of fossil fuels. Also, individuals can decrease burning carbon-based fuel by using electronic vehicles or bikes instead of driving. In addition, the government performs important role in restricting of water oil pollution by enforcing laws. For instance, according to the “Clean Water Act” British Petroleum company, known as BP, was enforced to pay huge compensation for Gulf of Mexico oil spill in 2010. In the same way, using of advanced technology and equipment by oil companies can control oil leakage. To conclude, because of some human activities, air and water pollution happens which are damage our environment. The governments and individuals can take some measures to tackle this issue.