Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweight its disadvantages?

Many feel that patriotism has an advantageous effect on the public. In my opinion, although being proud of one's country is legitimate, patriotic feelings may cause more negatives than positives. On the one hand, patriotism brings harmony to the community as we can see in the national games such as Olympics which has held every four years. When restaurants or shops project the matches, most people stopped their activities and then came to watch the games and cheer them up together like the triumph of their nation is their achievement. Moreover, countries may get benefits from patriotism. Individuals who have pride in their country are more likely to work hard for the common good. This applies to a variety of positions in society and also they will invest in their country to support their self-esteem. On the other hand, patriotism is often taken to extremes. For example, in China the athletes who had lost the matches will be treated as a traitor. They have faced a lot of complaints which makes them feel depressed and causes more mental problems. Alike Korea, even the K-POP industries earn huge income for the country but K-POP idols have got psychological stress regarding defamation if we look back to the past several years it may see that around five K-POP idols were committed suicide cause of these reasons. In conclusion, though patriotism gains many benefits in terms of economy and harmony, the drawbacks related to pressure are more significant. Mental health should not depend on one's patriotic feelings toward compatriots.