In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

IIn some nations, there is an increasing number of the population who are facing health issues as a consequence of eating unhealthy food. Thus, there is a demand, that public administration should start having additional charges for this kind of food. This essay agrees that there should be a required additional tariff for fast food companies. First of all, the additional tariff on fast- food chain groups will definitely lower the demand of the public for it and moreover, the money from these taxes can be used in health awareness campaigns. As a result of the added tax on fast food companies, people will not be any more encouraged to buy due to the fact that it has increased its price. Only those who earn extra money will take the challenge, while others who only have minimum salaries will have no choice but to lessen their habit of eating outside. This type of strategy has been done also with cigarettes. One observation that I can share is the market sales in our convenience store during and before the price hike in cigarettes. Before, people used to buy 1 to 2 cases, but nowadays, people tend to buy per stick. We really felt the change in demand for cigarettes after the price hike. The revenue to be collected can be used in awareness campaigns, this is already being done with the cigarette rallies. Campaigns are necessary in order for the people to be well informed about the dangers that these fast- food chains offer. For example, in cigarette campaigns, there are several posters containing the health risk associated with smoking. Money collected through taxes can also be donated to treating patients associated with fast food health risks. In conclusion, fast food companies must be required to have this additional revenue. For this reason, there will be a decrease in the number of people involved in eating in fast food chains, and another positive result of this is that awareness campaign groups can have more savings to use in the campaign.