In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In other nations, students are given the opportunity to work or to fly before graduating high school or going to universities. This essay will discuss the advantages such as, students can earn money and will be able to gain advanced experiences that can be related to the course they are going to take in college. However, there will be also disadvantages, such as, they can be overwhelmed by the salary and may end up not proceeding to college. In connection with the previous statement, it can also delay their academic achievements. The advantages of having a job or travelling prior to taking up college are being able to earn money and coming across some adventures or events in life. Students who find temporary work before enrolling on college can somehow earn and save money which they can use for the next semester. Also, whatever they are into may it job-related or travelling to places, they can obtain some learnings which they have not yet encountered. For instance, a student who is going to take a hotel and restaurant management course can temporarily apply to a restaurant that offers undergraduate students. With that, he/she will be able to gain advanced knowledge regarding hands-on training related to its course. Regardless of these advantages, students can face also some disadvantages such as, undergraduates can be stunned by the earnings they are getting which might confuse them about whether to continue schooling or not and this can lead to delaying their bachelorette degree. It really feels different when you are reaping what you have sowed, that is why working while being an undergraduate can lead some to stop studying and just continue working. Moreover, having a year gap during high school and before entering college can delay academic achievement, hence this hampers their dream job that is in line with their courses. For example, one can dream of being a nurse but since the call centre industry accepts high school graduates, one can be persuaded by the salary it offers which will therefore delay achieving one’s academic achievement. In conclusion, having the opportunity of working or travelling during a break from studies can offer some benefits, however it can also have its downside for students,especially in their academic achievements.