Some Government believe it is necessary to impose a high tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

As the consumption of sugary, fat and salty food is on the rise, related illnesses such as diabetes, and heart attack are also raising. Some people feel that it is mandatory to levy a hefty tax to reduce the intake of junk food. This essay will discuss why I believe it is beneficial and lead to more money for health services as well as discouraging the consumption of unhealthy food. The primary reason why imposing a heavy tax on junk food is a good idea is because it would increase revenue to the Government which can be leveraged on medical services. Indeed, this has been the case with taxes on alcohol and tobacco products in the UK where the tax from the sale of cigarettes has been diverted to treat patients with smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer, as well as to fund advertising campaigns to deter smokers. Similarly, taxes on fast food could be used in the same way. In addition to this, increasing the tax on unhealthy foods would raise prices, as a result, it would significantly reduce the consumption of fast food. Consequently, a McDonald's burger which used to cost $3 may now cost $10 resulting in the dramatic reduction in the number of people who can afford fast food. Thus, illnesses related to obesity will reduce which will improve overall public health. In conclusion, poor health choices will affect people's health leading to numerous diseases. An increase in the tax on unhealthy food will not only reduce the amount of fast good that most people afford to buy but also improves the revenue of the Government to focus on public health.