Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others think that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society believes that competition can play an important part in the lives of children to teach them innovative skills and discipline whereas another section thinks that co-operation can assist them to be a good citizen in future due to taking responsibility and controlling emotions. This essay will discuss the reasons behind these views along with my own opinion in the conclusion. To begin with, a number of people are in favour of competition among children because this approach can teach them to use their imagination to find out their own moves to perform better in it. Hence, they do work more with cent per cent of their capacity to get good results. In addition, when there is a sense of competition in children, they need to follow a pattern or schedule to sort out their moves and this activity certainly helps them to be disciplined in their lives. A survey conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March, 2015 manifestly unveiled that 65% of children in the UK had found new innovative techniques and worked consistently on these when they were motivated towards competing each other. On the contrary, it is being opined by an increasing number of people that co- opeartion among children can be conducive to their upcoming lives as it teaches them to take the responsibility for actions and how to priortize their actions. In fact, when children are allowed to take part in team activities to learn co-operation, they try understand the plans of the team and perform according to team leader. Moreover, co- opeartive skills can give a chance to control the ups and downs in their behaviour. If children understand how to accept failure, they may become enough capable to bear the pressure of their upcoming professional lives. For example, a responsible and emotionally stable person can co-operate with other people in their hard times which is one of the basics of humanity. To conclude, even though some people are inclined towards competition skills, others support co-operation among children to make them good adults. I believe there is a need to introduce co-operation to children to build a better future; however, a healthy competition can be a catalyst for this process.