It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that educating minors to understand good and bad during their formative years is essential for their development therefore punishing negative behaviours should be applied. In this essay, I disagree with this idea because children during the early stage can learn fast without any form of discipline, and physical punishment can lead to adverse effects. That is to, say infants can learn quickly with adults' guidance. By this, authoritarian parents can be role models in a family if they want to nurture their children to become law-abiding citizens. For this reason, fathers and mothers should take the best of every opportunity as a lesson to show good deeds to their kids, thus they will practice and act accordingly. For example, at the weekend, parents might arrange an exciting trip for their kids to go for a short venture to public places where they can learn from their parents ' activities such as greeting people, getting in line, and being polite and quiet in a restaurant. In addition, punishing acts might be potentially harmful to minors mentally and physically. By this, some parents might accidentally hit their babies when teaching rebellious children, thus this may cause injuries or even fatal wounds. Consequently, these dramatic incidents can hinder a child's cognitive processes. For instance, in Vietnam, due to the widespread adoption of Western education, fewer parents choose physical discipline as a children's upbringing tool, this allows them to grow into independent and confident people. In conclusion, punishment brings more harm than good to young people's development because parents can teach their kids by being role models and physical discipline can create irreversible damage to a child's growth.