Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, many people have suggested that increasing the price of sugary foods and beverages could help reduce health problems. I agree with this statement because raising the cost of these products would limit the number of people who buy them. Another reason is that this policy could also help decrease health risks in the community, such as diabetes and obesity. To begin with, sugary foods and beverages are now available almost everywhere, making them easily accessible to people. When governments implement such rules, they can greatly influence people ’s purchasing habits and reduce health risks in the community, such as diabetes, heart disease, and obesity. Furthermore, this could help build a healthier society free from preventable diseases and encourage people to eat more nutritious food. For instance, a magazine in the UK reported that the number of people suffering from obesity has increased as a result of consuming foods high in sugar. Despite the numerous merits that can come along with increasing the cost of sugary foodstuffs, some disadvantages should not be neglected. For example, a lot of low-income families depend on cheap processed food. If the government decides to raise the prices, this can have a direct negative effect on such individuals. In such a case, healthy alternatives should be available at a reasonable price as well, encouraging a better lifestyle for everyone. In a nutshell, increasing prices can account for many advantages and can help lead a healthier society by encouraging healthy eating. However, to ensure this policy is fair and effective, it should be paired with affordable access to healthy alternatives, particularly for lower-income households