Increasing vehicles on the roads is a menace in cities. What actions can be taken to plan cities keeping in mind interests of pedestrians and cyclists?

Traffic congestion on the roads of cities all over the world is a huge problem caused by the significant growth of automobiles. This should be addressed by constructing multi-level flyovers and expanding roads. There should be a separate pathway provided for cyclists and stop signals for people to cross from one side to another. To begin with, due to the increasing consumerism of privately owned vehicles and the growing population, the traffic has been constant trouble for people living in cities. Widening narrow roads in metros is the need of the hour along with building flyovers in majorly populated areas. Moreover, the government should plan these bridges in such a way that there could be multiple laid out for the same road or area in future. For example, in cities like Dubai and Singapore, the administrators have taken the utmost care in building superior infrastructure by laying out bridges on more than one level. Secondly, having a separate path for bikes is extremely vital as there are plenty of accidents happening on the roads without these paths due to the varying speed of manual and motor vehicles. In addition to this, there should be signal posts dedicated to people who want to cross the roads so that vehicles can stop and allow them to pass through. For example, such signal posts installed on Hyderabad roads are helping people tremendously when there is a flyover in between or a school or hospital on the other side. Therefore, it is highly imperative to construct individual separations for bikes and install traffic signals for pedestrians. In conclusion, heavy congestion on the roads of many cities has only been on the rise; the timely help of governments to enhance the existing infrastructure by the expansion of roads and the construction of multi-modal flyovers is crucial to reducing the traffic. Segregation of lanes for vehicles with varying speeds and installation of signal posts for the pedestrians would result in immensely smoother traffic flow.