Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down to give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As cities develop more and more, a number of people support the view that old buildings should be replaced with modern ones. However, I totally disagree with this point because maintaining them is going to be more advantageous in the long run and a more economical option. There are several reasons why it is reasonable to preserve old structures. Apparently, many of them have historical and cultural values depicting how our ancestors lived in the past which is why they must be preserved for the future generation. Even UNESCO designates diverse heritage sites and architecture worldwide to explain that the places are important resources of the past and serve as an inspiration for the future. In addition, these ancient buildings have unique aesthetic elements compared to modern buildings, which provide various opportunities to learn about varying architectural designs. Furthermore, they can play an important role in tourism even provide economic benefits. Additionally, even with safety issues, it is better to keep them intact as it is not that costly to renovate and restore them using our sophisticated technologies. There are plenty of affordable yet high-quality and sustainable construction materials that can be used in the process. This can also contribute to the level of the building’s economic value in a shorter period of time than destroying them for the new structures. In Sydney, all of the heritage buildings are protected only allowing contractors to change their interior design, so the exterior can maintain their historical and cultural shapes. In conclusion, even though some old buildings have some safety problems, they have more historical, educational and economic values. Therefore, they should be restored with sustainable materials and conserved rather than simply replacing them.