When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks and sports facilities rather than shopping centers for people to spend their time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued, that while designing new towns more provisions for the construction of parks and sports amenities should be considered rather than shopping malls. I completely agree with this notion that parks and sports are more important for public welfare as compared to shopping centres. Firstly, building more parks and providing better sports facilities will enhance healthy lifestyle of individuals. Recreational activities are very important for all age groups whether children, teenagers, adults or old age people.Nowadays, due to the sedentary lifestyles public parks provide a good platform for all individuals to relax and spend their time in leisure and it is beneficial for both physical as well as psychological wellness. For instance, Chandigarh is considered as best planned city in India.The reason behind this is its design and the most salient feature of this city is public parks in every society which not only contributes to healthy lifestyle but keeps enviroment pollution- free. Secondly, constructing more shopping malls means, people will more often opt for shopping, thus there will be rise in their expenditure. On the other hand, building more sports centres will help the youngsters to do better in their respected field. It will give more better players to the nation and they can achieve more awards and honours for their countries in Olympics or world federation games. One of the best examples proving this is Japan which won maximum prizes in World Olympic games in 2020. This was possible because their government has constructed more sports academies in every city to promote and boost the players. To conclude, recreational grounds and sports centers should be built more while planning new towns rather than shopping malls. This will not only be beneficial for an individual but for the prosperity of the whole nation.