Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether advertisements play a key role in attracting large numbers of consumers to purchase goods. While in some ways it is true that companies are having more and more potential customers because of displaying colourful posters or advertisements, I agree with those who believe that this kind of marketing is not effective anymore. There are various reasons why it might be considered an extremely powerful tool in product marketing. Since product -owners are constantly doing market research, they are more likely to be aware of customers’ tastes and trends and therefore advertisements ’ storylines and content they are creating become strong enough to invade viewers’ minds to make a purchase. For example, the Korean cosmetic industry, especially skincare selling companies, are shooting short commercial videos with popular k-pop stars to tell the details of their product in an entertaining way and worldwide k-pop fans are happily waiting to buy. Furthermore, advertisements are shown repeatedly in crowded places and on the easily accessible digital platforms that a great number of users are browsing daily, resulting in consumers being likely to buy the familiar ones rather than completely new to them. However, I would argue that people find advertisements frustrating because of repeated promotion and inauthenticity and they even avoid purchasing too many promotional items. With the help of new features of technology, business owners are able to put their advertisements in the middle of the most populated videos and users can see them ubiquitously which could lead to skipping to watching advertisements involving videos. On the other hand, excessive advertising for one product could make people untrusty about the quality of the product and people start focusing on the reliable honest review from those who are actually using a particular product instead of paying attention to advertisements. To sum up, although it is undeniable that advertising plays one of the most applicable features in marketing, customers’ tastes are changing to getting personal reviews on one product.