Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that these problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take actions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether the environmental problems are too big for individuals to address has become a heated topic recently. Some think it is beyond individuals’ capability, while others disagree and suggest that everyone should participate in protecting our planet. Personally, I agree with the latter view. There are reasons for backing up those who believe environment protection is out of individuals’ scope. Firstly, environmental issues are too vague and complicated for individuals to understand. It is challenging to comprehend since the whole system is a complex of multiple subsystems. Hence, the public will be hindered from taking specific actions to protect environment without knowing how it works. Secondly, actions taken by governments and organizations will be more efficiently and effectively than coordinating individuals to work together simultaneously. For example, build up more infrastructures like sewage treatment and clean power plants, invest more in public transport systems improvement. As a result, carbon emission will be reduced on a larger scale compared to individuals’. This is why people support that is the government’s responsibility to handle the problems. However, every single person’s effort should not be overlooked because we can make a difference through living a sustainable lifestyle everyday. For instance, bring your reusable alternatives each time when you go to the grocery stores. Thus, less single-use disposal plastic bags end up in rivers and oceans, wildlife will additionally be preserved. Meanwhile, carbon footprint will be limited greatly if every commuter chooses a greener transport means, such as switch private driving to public transport, carpooling or baking. What’s more, do recycling correctly will benefit our environment as well. Instead of being burned in open-dumps landfill, all recyclable items should go to the right bin to decrease greenhouse gas emission. All these actions require individuals’ participation and great achievements will be made in long run. In conclusion, although protecting environment seems to be huge for an individual to cope with. But I am convinced that our planet will be significantly protected through our daily practice of living a sustainable lifestyle.