Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication have a negative impact on young people’s writing and reading skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, with the rapid technological innovation, the transmission of messages has been becoming more efficient. As those who look upon adolescents’ declining literacy skills a result of overusing consumer electronic devices when interacting with others, I am holding an identical opinion and the explanations will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. One primary reason is that online users tend to express themselves in a comparatively informal and simple way of speaking; consequently, they gradually find it mentally demanding when being required to read or write seriously. In other words, young people are very likely to suffer from reading or writing materials with complicated structures and advanced vocabularies as they are exposed to straightforward languages for most of the time. Take social media as an example, trendy internet slangs and abbreviations appear so frequently that they have almost curved deeply in teenagers’ minds; as a result, a rising number of young people use them unconsciously even when doing presentations or attending formal meetings. Additionally, the younger generations’ language abilities exacerbate since they place too much reliance on the technologies which are capable of providing hints and correcting errors. To be more specific, as it is increasingly common for the youngsters to rely on software or applications aiming at automatically revising writers’ mistakes, like Grammarly, they are getting oblivious about right and wrong words as well as grammar.][ According to a survey conducted by Cambridge University, roughly 55% of high school students contend that they may not be able to complete assignments without the assistance of the previously mentioned technology because it has long been recommending proper ways of writing thereby refraining them from sharpening their own language skills. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, though communicating with high-tech products is mainstream for the young, I believe it has caused detrimental influences on their literacy skills because they hardly immerse themselves in written language and are often helped by writing assistants.