Today, in spite of the scientifically proven necessity of life-long learning, the idea that innate intelligence (thinking skills) is enough to have a successful life is dominating the minds of people. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays people tend to believe that being born with intellectual abilities will ensure a better future rather than gaining knowledge throughout life. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with this issue and propose some possible solutions to avoid them. The main problems caused by the loss of self-learning process are procrastinating and lack of motivation and ambition. Procrastinating is a state when person is slow or late about doing something that should be done. If people only rely on their innate abilities and do not do anything at all, they will lose their valuable time and many opportunities. In the future, they will grow up to be a person who is unable to do any work in a timely manner. Moreover, when people do not study they lose motivation and become ambitionless, and in future no succes will be preserved for them. There are several solutions like reading books and improving cognitive abilities by solving quizzes and puzzles. Studying process can be frustrating for many people. Therefore, reading interesting books, watching animated educational videos can be good alternatives. There are other intellectual activities such as solving puzzles, interesting quizzes, playing chess, which not only improve brain activity, but also entertain a person. To sum up, relying only on innate abilities can slow down the pace of developing and possible solutions include boosting knowledge by reading books, solving quizzes and puzzles and playing intellectual games.