Nowadays many students live with their familes while others go to another city to study at a university. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of both scenarios. Include relevant examples in your answer.

Recently, the debate on whether students should stay at home or go abroad for their university studies has been heated. While some peopel claim that spending time at home is beneficial for one's confidence, others believe that studying in another city can expand students ' knowledge base. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of both cases. To begin with, living with family can provide more sense of security for students. It seems that students can build up a stronger family bond and be supported when spending time with their parents. However, youngsters may be over-dependent in this circumstance. For example, many people are the only child in their families due to the One Child policy in China. Consequently, this generation may be spoiled by their parents. Once students rely on their parents in solving daily issues, they may not be independent enough to care for themselves. On the other hand, one of the benefits of studying abroad may be that students can broaden their horizons. Since students are exposed to a different culture in a foreign county, they can experience diverse ways of thinking when having activities like group discussions. Nevertheless, culture shock may prevent young people from learning new knowledge. If students who study abroad found the differences in another culture hard to adapt to, they may feel reluctant to embrace the diversity or even feel depressed. To conclude, one of the merits of staying with family is the security it can bring for students. Meanwhile, other young adolescents may enjoy the diversity in foreign cultures.