Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To be abroad may emerge a variety of issues for non-local inhabitants. I totally agree with the statement since unknowing a certain nonnative language could create hardship in making friends and organizing travel overseas. The first fact that I want to mention is the self-expression item. Because of not mastering the foreign language, people may feel a lack of words that they would like to utter, even if they are intellectual and interesting personalities for a certain type of people. For instance, they may say some sentence that would sound perfectly in their native language. However, in the case of unfamiliar language, the same expression may gain ridiculous or shameful nuance and those individuals might fall into an embarrassing situation. The following point is related to travel movement with numerous vehicle options. Not comprehending station terms could lead to anxious behaviour of tourists. To illustrate this, once I was in one of the biggest main stations in Europe, which has 100 train platforms. I knew the word platform in german as the station was in Zurich and found the 9th platform from where I managed to sit Zurich-Vienna train. In the middle of the road, I needed to transfer trains and at that moment I hardly could find the exact number of the platform since the Austrian station mostly used the same word’s synonym and I had a feeling that cannot understand the data in signboards. Subsequently, I skipped my second train as I had only 4 minutes to change platforms and searched the information from the station’s employees about the next train which had to approach in 3 hours. Finally, staying overseas can push people into various unforeseen cases. I believe, that people have to learn at least general communication samples and be aware of several specific topic vocabularies.