Children today have more responsibilities than the past. Some people think it has positive effects than negative ones, while others disagree. Discuss both views, and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, most young people work tirelessly to accomplish certain goals. Certain individuals opine that this has bad attributes compared to good ones whereas some oppose this idea. I, however, think that duties given to children yield good results than bad. The essay below will discuss both views at length. First and foremost, children need to be groomed for any life opportunities and uncertainties. Parents, relatives and even guardians do not live internally, for this reason, it is a great idea to give adolescents more work to do as a way of training them for the future. Besides, nowadays most adults are in the diaspora searching for greener pastures. Thus children are left living by themselves with no adult supervision. For example, a study in Ghana showed that about thirty-two per cent of the child-headed families were responsible and able to fend for themselves because their deceased parents had taught them the survival skills. Therefore, I agree that more responsibilities should be given to the youth as it may have a positive impact in the future. On the other hand, some people think that giving more duties to children has negative effects. They mention that too much work will disturb their progress at school. I think this view is invalid because studying does not mean someone should not do other chores. For example, it was proved by Stanley Lee in his book," Dustless child" that many learned youths are unable to do house chores. He puts the blame on parents who were reluctant to teach them essential responsibilities such as washing and cooking. Thus, I support the idea that more duties should be given to young people as it might benefit them in life. In conclusion, I agree that children should be given more work to do as it may help them in the future although others think this will have a negative impact on their studies. These and other issues have been discussed in the above essay.