Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental degradation is taking place at an alarming rate all over the world. While some people argue that these issues should be tackled by nations individually, many believe that they should be handled internationally. In my opinion, as it is a serious problem, it should be handled on an international level. This essay will discuss both views and explain my perspective in detail. First of all, changes in the environment vary from place to place. Some places that comprise majorly forestland might be affected by deforestation while others with industrial settlements may have concerns over air pollution. Therefore, the government of that particular country should introduce regulations that prevent these damages to the natural climate. For example, in Delhi, the air quality has declined drastically which forced the Indian government to pass a law on reducing the usage of personal vehicles and instead encouraging people to use public transport. On the other hand, climate change is occurring worldwide. A phenomenon like global warming and the melting of glaciers are global concerns which are believed to bring unprecedented disasters. In such circumstances, it is crucial for all the countries to come together and solve these problems. The rising sea level due to the melting of snow in Antarctica, for instance, is a threat to the islands of Malaysia and Thailand. Although the government there are aware of the causes, there is very little they can do by themselves unless and until they get support from their respective regions. Thus, unity among governments is vital to dealing with these catastrophes. All in all, it is evident that environmental damage is a burning matter. However, it can be solved by a country alone or by conducting a global summit which depends completely on the nature of the problem. But, I think that it would be better if this is handled on a global scale as these changes are not region-specific and are impacting the earth as a whole.