Plastic bags, bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Products made up of plastics like polybags, water bottles and packaging materials are detrimental to the environment. Increased utilization of these items can cause a lot of damage to nature. This essay will discuss the impacts of rampant usage of plastic and what the government and the citizens can do to tackle this issue. Plastics are nonbiodegradable in nature. In simple words, the disintegration of plastic may take thousands of years and therefore it is difficult to get rid of it completely. Consequently, these plastic bags and wrappers end up in dumpsters and are consumed by birds and animals inadvertently, causing harm to their health. For example, there are frequent occurrences in India where cattle eat fragments of plastics along with their feed and suffer from major discomfort. Therefore, the government should focus on the appropriate disposal of plastics. There are various measures that governments and individuals can take to deal with this problem. Firstly, provisions should be introduced for the collection of plastic waste separately and should be recycled. Recycling will decline the generation of new polymers. Secondly, single-use plastics like cups, milk bags, and mini juice containers shall be banned. Instead, these commodities can be packed in tetra packs or glass containers which can be disposed of easily. Thirdly, people should start encouraging the use of non- plastic things, for instance, using steel bottles for water storage or carrying groceries in cloth or paper bags. Thus, a joint effort from the government as well as the people are required to deal with this matter. In conclusion, it is evident that plastic bags, bottles and packages are not good for the environment and are damaging the natural habitat. However, governments and individuals can jointly solve this problem by enforcing rules and following them religiously.