A prisoner should stay in their cell every day of his/her sentence. That is what justice means. Do you agree with this statement or believe that prisoners could do something more constructive with their time, such as voluntary work?

There are many who believe that an inmate should spend their prison life locked away in their cells as a form of justification. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with this statement and form a conclusion. On the one hand, prison is a form of punishment and should maintain strict guidelines. People are primarily sent to such an institution because they have committed a heinous crime and do not deserve the luxuries of the outside world. Therefore, it seems fair that they should be contained within one cell for the rest of their days. This action will hopefully encourage reflection, guilt and insight into what they did wrong. Although, it will never amass to the injustice they have committed, it can bring a sense of relief to the victim’s family knowing that they are being punished for what they did. For example, a drunk driver who killed a child whilst speeding, deserves to be in isolation for the rest of his sentence. This is because, not only did he display reckless behaviour but also ended an innocent child’s life. On the other hand,voluntary work should be an essential routine in this facility. Giving back to the community will promote feelings of fulfilment, happiness and a sense of pride. Furthermore, it will encourage a sense of duty and make it easier for them to blend back into society once they are released. Additionally, these acts of service will conjure up feelings of remorse and guilt and discourage from performing such atrocities again. For instance, every weekend if they volunteer to pick up the garbage from the city’s streets, this will cause them to better themselves and incorporate good habits they can use outside of jail. In conclusion, it is advisable that prisoners are put to work whilst in such a facility, as this will automatically encourage them to improve themselves.