Children who start reading earlier in life perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child later academic achievements?

There are divergent opinions regarding the academic performance of youngsters in school. It is often argued by some individuals that young adults who started acquiring knowledge in their earlier stage of life tend to do excellently in their studies. It is vital because it helps in the development of the brain. However, there are a plethora of reasons that affect the educational advancement of the pupils such as congenital malformations, environmental factors and family histories. To begin, any Adolescent that tends to start studying at the onset of their life helps in brain maturity. This is due to the fact that the Broca's area and the Wernicke's area which are the two parts of the brain that are responsible for reading and processing information will be activated on time, and this makes the young adults produce better results than their age groups. These parts of the brain equally make them smarter than their counterparts. For example, Master Emeka Ezeh, the most talented child that performed excellently well in his West Africa Examination Council(WAEC) was interviewed and he stated that he started schooling at the age of 6 months after birth. Evidently, it is essential for youngsters to start reading on time because of intellect enhancement. However, there are numerous causes that hinder informal learning abilities like speaking and communicating with their parents. Firstly, it can be a result of congenital defects such as Down syndrome and Autism. This is because the area of the brain responsible for reading and understanding is severely affected, thus making the individual perform poorly in milestone achievements. Secondly, environmental factors such as ventilation and arrangement of the classroom play a vital role in the life of toddlers. Simply put, a classroom that is not well aired and not well spaced will make the children uncomfortable, thereby hindering the learning process to take place. Finally, family history equally affects the children's abilities, the reason being that there are some households that have already existing poor academic performance, thus affecting other offspring. To illustrate, Research conducted among pre schoolchildren revealed that Adolescents with malformations demonstrated poor educational performance. Undoubtedly, histories of the descendants, birth defects and factors of the environment play a pivotal role in influencing their abilities in college. In conclusion, although it is very paramount for offspring to start formal education early enough because it assists in their intellect development. Nevertheless, there are numerous circumstances that hinder their achievements such as birth malformations, environmental factors and the history of the family.