The environmental problems facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a saying that citizens tend to play a less important role in charging some matters related to the protection of the environment than the authorities and other organizations can do in the background of an increasing number of global environmental issues. From my perspective, l disagree with this point. To begin with, at the heart of this matter is that the process of carrying out these essential events pro- environment will not be successful without the participation of residents. In other words, it may be common to witness plenty of barriers among the public when it comes to executing due to the weak awareness of public environment protection. According to a report, the American government was struggling with the parade of workers who lost their jobs in the chemical factories, since they had to close down a lot of chemical plants which caused damage to the air quality in the US, in order to meet the standards of the Environmental Protection Council. In addition, the individuals will have a hugely positive impact on changing the current situation of surroundings, if they are able to be guided correctly to achieve something they can do for developing the environment, although it seems to have limited effects at the beginning. To be more specific, once buyers consciously start to resist the detergent with a certain harmful ingredient doing harm to the domestic water resource in some rivers, l believe that more and more industries which engaged in the production of such a commodity will transfer their original idea to manufacture some environmentally-friendly goods. All in all, as long as every individual unite and make their contribution to improving the environment, our earth will be a better place to live for us and our descendant.