SOME EXPERTS BELIEVE THAT IS BETTER FOR CHILDREN TO BEGIN LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE AT PRIMARY SCHOOL RATHER THAN SECONDARY SCHOOL. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS OUTWEIGH DISADVANTAGES? GIVE REASONS FOR YOUR ANSWER AND INCLUDE ANY RELEVANT EXAMPLE FROM YOUR OWN KNOWLEDGE OR EXPERIENCE

It is believed by some experts that learning a foreign language is more beneficial in primary school compared to secondary school. Although there may be some problems for children to learn a second language at a young age, it definitely has numerous benefits. I, therefore, believe that its advantages take precedence over the disadvantages. I will discuss its merits and demerits in detail in this essay. On the one hand, the most significant advantage of getting a grip on overseas languages in primary school is sharp mindedness of young pupils. Studies have proven that children- from nursery to year five- have the strongest learning power due to a special development of their brain cells at this age. Thus, this is the proper time to teach children some other languages apart from their native tongues. This will enhance their chances of employment and education not only abroad but also in their own countries. For example, in this globalized, world multilingual people can work online for multinational corporations from the comfort of their homes. On the other hand, children in their early schools are very young to bear the extra pressure of learning foreign languages. For instance, they are stressed with studies and the hectic challenges of early schooling as they are not used to it. In these circumstances, it is a difficult task for them to incorporate learning international languages into their routine life. However, they can easily manage it by following proper time management. In conclusion, despite the difficulty of learning a foreign language in primary schooling due to some extra pressure, primary school students can easily command other foreign languages along with their mother tongues. However, in high schools, it is very tough for pupils to become bilingual or multilingual. Hence, the drawbacks of bilingualism or multilingualism in junior school are overshadowed by its benefits.