There seems to be increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather tah than Continual assessments. What are advantages and disadvantage?

In order to access students regarding their field of study in schools and universities, we have seen that there has been an increasing trend for exams instead of frequent practical and theoretical assignments; however, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks which I shall discuss in this essay. To begin with the positives of examinations, first of all, usually, exams are held at the end of an academic year, so pupils have a whole year to understand the concepts and theories of various subjects properly they are enrolled in. Also, students have to take exams in the institution rooms, which is a transparent and authentic way, so there is no way of cheating as there are always instructors and teachers present in the class, and through this way, the true capabilities of each student can be analysed, and the most capable student would be rewarded with high grades. On the contrary, if I talk about the negatives of examinations then some students are not able to perform to their maximum potential because they have exam phobia. Also, exams are not the only way to judge a student's ability for studies, as some learners are more good at practical assignments. In addition, continual assessments are sometimes the best way to enhance and improve students in their studies as pupils receive frequent feedback from their tutors. Moreover, a balanced approach must be adopted by schools and universities so that students can achieve higher grades. In conclusion, although exams are considered to be the most suitable way for students as exams are the transparent way to judge the capability of a student, negatives like exam fear and students are not able to receive continuous feedback with exams cannot be ignored.