Many parents are unhappy with their children playing violent games and watching violent movies. How it can effect children and what can be done to solve this problem?

The topic concerning offspring being fond of violent video games and films never fails to dissatisfy most parents. Undoubtedly, getting addicted to electronic games and videos with violence brings negative impacts on students' development. Actions should be done to tackle this issue. First of all, it is noticeable that adolescents are immature with poorer critical thinking and are easily affected by messages surrounding them. When they surf the Internet for violent entertainment, they may mimic the behaviours of the characters. For example, a horror movie called "Saw" involves cruel scenes of hitting enemies instead of adopting a milder discussion. Teenagers may trust it is the way to tackle tensions and apply them to daily life. This harms their cognitive development and increases the difficulty in fitting social norms. Nevertheless, it is fair to say games and shows with cold-blooded plots bring more excitement than other genres such as comedy or pet games. For instance, unlocking different stages after proposing wars on more and more countries in some military games. Children who are curious and seek challenges may be attracted to these enjoyments more easily. This results in their poor school results and health conditions when students spend too much occasion on these games, instead of using spare time for studying and doing exercises. Physical health and future achievements are impaired. In view of these situations, it is critical for different parties to work together to mitigate the problem. For parents, more activities can be arranged for their offspring to distract them from violent entertainment. Never should we overlook the significance of getting along with children in changing their behaviours. A study from West London University shows a negative relationship between time spent by the parents engaging in healthier activities like doing exercise, baking, and camping, and the time spent by the youngsters on the Internet. This greatly reduces the chances of young people being addicted to violent games when their schedules are packed with alternative enjoyment. Aside from family, school is also responsible to educate students about the disadvantages of violent actions. Unavoidably, young people will receive violent messages from various mass media. However, guiding them on how to handle this information and crisis in life should be prioritized. To conclude, the situation of being entertained by violent games and films is not favourable for young people's development. Parents and schools can cooperate to relieve this phenomenon.