Modern technology has promoted easy and fast access to information. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Even after bringing numerous positive changes to our daily lives, the use of technology remains contentious. Some worry that the emerging technologies could expose us to many digital risks. There are strong opinions on the positive changes and potential risks, which I will explore today. To commence with, one evident benefit of living in the computer age is that the ever-present technology keeps enhancing our learning experience. Emerging new technologies offer us many innovative tools to learn languages. An example that stands out for me is Google’s translation. With this handy tool, anyone with a smartphone or computer can have the option to instantly translate their words into another language at their fingertips, facilitating self-learning languages. In addition, with the growing capability of telecommunication, there is now the distinct advantage of learning foreign languages with native teachers remotely online. Hence, technology in essence brings important breakthroughs in our lives. Those who worry about the use of technology, on the other hand, point out that digital technology may expose us to many threats, in particular cyber attacks and intrusions. It is true that cyber crime is increasingly complex and is constantly shifting patterns. Nevertheless, it should be noted that it can be mitigated by taking some basic initiatives. People can reduce the risk of their computers being hacked by installing antivirus software and avoiding installing applications from untrusted sources. Adding to this, if individuals are aware of suspicious emails and use strong passwords, their information is less likely to be stolen. It is therefore comprehensible that the risks of using digital technology are manageable. Overall, I believe technological advancements will continue to allow us to envision a better future. As long as the digital risks are adequately managed and maintained, the benefits of this trend exceed any potential downsides.