Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. In my opinion, I partially agree with this clause so I will explain my reason in the following paragraph. Firstly, Due to my experience in a dictatorship country that was ruled by a coup de 'tat military government. I firmly agree that criminal laws such as killing a person or robbery must have a suitable punishment for the offender. In order to make a lesson to offenders not to do wrong things again and protect public order and good morals in society. However, I have seen different aspects that the law uses to protect authorities and restrict the rights and freedoms of people. For example, Government enforces a law to prosecute a protest people who are against the military government. Authority has various types to use a lawfare in order to SLAPP people who express in political mindset different from accepting the rightness of authority and criticize corruption in the government sector. Moreover, Some country has severe punishment for a citizen who criticizes a monarchy or called "lese majeste law ". For example, In Thailand was jailed between three to fifteen years. Accordingly, In the law concept of a developed country, The article in this act is not suitable proportion punishment. Moreover, It makes youth people in the country was jailed in order to study at university. In conclusion, I could not agree more that if society does not have a law, society will chaos. But should remind that some countries force laws to restrict people and gain more power to authority.