Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the Crime rate has increased a lot.Punishment is being given to criminals depending upon the nature of their misconduct.Some people expound that criminals should be utilized in free social work instead of putting them into jails. However, I disagree with this view. In the paragraphs to follow, I shall further discuss my view on this. Firstly, If any criminal is found guilty, he should be removed from society as soon as possible. It is the only way to keep the community safe and prevent them from re-offending. Consequently, goons should be given re-habilitation training and based on their performance, interest and behaviour in the jail, they can be associated with multiple social service activities such as cleaning of streets and preparing food for the poor. Crime should have a strict punishment associated with it. So, It will deter people from contemplating the offence as they will be aware of the consequences of the crime. It will send a strict message to society that every crime has punishment associated with it. However, merely involving them in unpaid community service will not solve the purpose and will not prevent them from offending again. Folks can be categorized based on their misdeed and motivation for the misdeed. People who have specifically done heinous crimes such as murder and rape should never be allowed to move freely in society even for social work, while who have done any misconduct in self-defence or need can be allowed to do social work after some imprisonment duration. To conclude, the government can teach new skills to offenders and run re-rehabilitation programs for them. Offenders could be utilized to do social work but it should be mandatory to put them behind the bars for a trial so that they know about the implications of committing a crime.