Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel o or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A few people believe that foreign languages should only be learned in order to travel or work in foreign countries whereas others say that there are other possible uses as well. This essay will cover both views and a conclusion thereafter. To begin with, it is mandatory for the people to be able to read, write, listen and speak in a foreign country. In addition, for applying to a position that demands to communicate with their local residents need to have a knowledge of their local language. For instance, people who travel to Germany for work-related purposes should have an understanding of the German language as the maximum population over there would speak in their local language. As a result, Learning a new language is always impressive for others, you could be one step ahead of those who don't know. On the other hand, people tend to learn foreign languages in their home country. Furthermore, learning of new language in the home country could be useful in many ways, such as playing a vital role in the Embassy of that country, taking tuition in that language, working as a translator and many more. For example, my friend who learned French online is now working as a teacher in a school. Hence, it is not important that you have to learn a foreign language in order to be called abroad, you can make use of that language in your home country. In conclusion, I believe in order to travel abroad and work in foreign countries one should have a clear understanding of their local languages, but one can also learn and use them in their home country by taking coaching, or working as a translator.