Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

Contemporary society is known as the era of urbanisation. From this aspect, parks and agricultural land are replaced by the development of new accommodation facilities. In my opinion, decreasing of parks and farmland is a negative development. Evidently, if the governments and businesses build more apartments or house at the place where used to be the parks, it might lead to extinction of wild animals and insect in the city such as bees, birds, and squirrels. This is because, the majority of park include plenty of trees and flowers that allow the wild animals and insects to survive in the city since those are not only habitat, but also food for them and some species have significant role in the environment. To exemplify, it is true that if bees are vanished, it leads to extinction of plenty of plants, especially flowers which need external help in order to reproduce. What is more, the squirrels bury the number of nuts in the ground mostly acorns for storage their food during winter season, but they are not able to remember all spots where they buried. It allows the acorn tree to grow in the new place. Thus, if the wild animals and insects are disappeared, it will accelerate global warming. Nevertheless, the population is growing rapidly around the world as life expectancy increases due to advanced medical technology and providing of health welfare form the governments, particularly, in the developed countries. Accordingly, there are more elderly individuals in the urban area compared to the past because of the aging society. Therefore, the demands of housing in the cities have been increasing for the last decades. Moreover, most of older people need health care. In this case, if there are cure house in the city instead of parks or agricultural land, it will be effective for them. This is because, they do not need to move into the other area or take their car in long distance. To sum up, although construct of new accommodation might have a positive effect for elderly citizens, it will lead to critical problem in the environments.