People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our lives generally more comfortable, but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certainly, people's lives have become more and more comfortable today due to their hard working and consumerist values, however, some feel pity that many traditions have been replaced and I generally agree with this view. There are many convenient and pleasant areas in people's daily lives and one is that they can use laptops, tablets or other mobile devices such as smartphones to shop online without time and places being limited. This is evident in China today, where a variety of online shops provide not only products covering all categories, but also quick delivery free of charge. As a result, consumers may well have more choices and better shopping experience. Another is that workers can buy tasty food by ordering on a food delivery app when they are busy working. Many employees find themselves in their workplaces for longer hours or at irregular times because of sizeable workloads or employer requirements, invariably making them difficult to prepare meals for themselves. Buying food by one touch potentially saves their time and gives them an opportunity to enjoy their favourite dishes. Nevertheless, there could be some vanishing traditions. Firstly, with the growth of consumerism, fewer people purchase items and use them as long as possible. For instance, many young girls affected by influencers on social media and fashion magazines often buy clothes seasonally and throw them easily when they go out of fashion, which arguably means they tend to not lead a frugal lifestyle and no longer insist their traditional values to be thrifty. Secondly, people buy more snacks and convenience foods now rather than cook traditional cuisine by themselves. They gradually develop a dependence on fast food and pre-prepared meals as they are cheap to buy and easy to cook, potentially suggesting they are less likely to learn their grandmothers' dishes, and this ultimately results in some classic family recipes becoming disappear. In conclusion, I feel although our lives have been better by purchasing a wider range of commodities, it is a shame to lose our traditions in the course of time.