In the past, people ate local, in-season food, but now, people tend to consume out-of-season food from different parts of the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In ancient times, communities had access to eat only home grown food. Over the last two decades, shipping between countries is gradually increased which has opened doors to import/export the seasonal food across the globe as a result irrespective of any season people get an opportunity to non-seasonal foods. I believe that with such trend the positive outcomes outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, on demand availbility of out-of-season food contribute to address individuals craving for such food and helps to manage regular diet across the year. First and foremost, some citizens go into a depression state when they do not get what they are craving. For instance, while pregnancy, women have a powerfull desire to eat a raw mango which is a summer fruit and not available around the year. In addition to craving, some doctors suggest to maintain the same diet plan across the year which is not possible if they do not have access to non-seasonal food. Thus, It is crucial for policymakers to ensure all natural food is avaialble for their citizens. On the other hand, connectivity across the globe enabled food supply chain between countries which provide employment for locals and contribute to increase countries economy. To explain further, such supply chain has recruited many individuals to ensure seamsless end-end transportaion of fresh food. For example, As per the recent survey conducted by Malaysian Malysia government, ten percent of their population are directly or indirectly working on global food supply chain. In addition to employment, the governments impose the import and export taxes that result in additional revenue to the public fund which can be utlized utilised for the betterment of their nation. For example, The 90 percent of the Singapore economy is generated by imports and exports. Finally, to recapitulate, availability of non-seasonal food is good for societies as they not only fulfill the desires but also to coutries to economy and employment.