Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centers with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

At present days, some elderly people decide to spend their retirement days in communities and centres with other people, instead of living with their families. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to poor mental health and physical well-being. To commence with, the most serious problem that can arise from living apart from their mature children is mental insanity as long-lived individuals become a victim of loneliness in their lives. Moreover, such old-age houses mostly keep senior citizens isolated and they do not have much to do in their daily routine but staring the staff performing their monotonous jobs. For instance, the concept of retirement communities is more popular in western countries, such as the USA, Australia, and so forth, as it is increasingly common for grown-up children to leave their parents to build their own independent lifestyles. Thus, the pressure for pensioned people to live without their children and grandchildren, and infrequent contact with their blood relations ultimately leads to unstable mental conditions. Another drawback is the poor physical state of the body. Firstly, this is because a lack of exposure, less physical activities, and isolated living conditions gradually decrease their apatite resulting in bad health. Secondly, the sadness and anxiety the older people suffer from are indescribable, the cause of this suffering is predominantly because of the feeling of being neglected and unwanted by their adult kids; consequently, this all leads to unhealthiness in one’s body. For example, according to a survey conducted in the USA, the cause of death of more than 80% of older men is because of living apart from their loved ones. In conclusion, retired parents choose to stay at community centres rather than live with their children. Although youngsters get a chance to build better brighter lifestyles and travel around freely this has also brought about too many drawbacks for this to be considered a positive trend.