Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

On one hand, The internet allows for easier communication with loved ones regardless of location. Moreover, as many accept jobs in different parts of the world, the loss of family contact is eliminated due to social media applications and video calling. For instance,while I now live in the Uk and the rest of my family are in China, I am still in constant contact with those whom I love dearly via social media tools which has had a significant impact on me. Therefore, it is evident that the internet has removed the daunting task of maintaining relations when living away from family and friends. On the other hand, as a result of overuse of the internet, many have become rather antisocial demonstrating a propensity to depend strictly on their devices to make contact. Furthermore, the lack of physical contact has created a major divide among young people in particular who prefer online virtual relations to personal ones. To illustrate, A recent Harvard university study revealed that 62% of teenagers in New York spend their time virtually engaging in relationships instead of meeting their friends or partners in real life. Thus, It is apparent that the effects of the internet are dangerous and might cause one to become depressed as people opt for /choose a lonely life instead. In closing, there are clearly pluses and minuses to the internet. Nevertheless, I maintain that we can all reap the benefits of the internet if we use it well, although this might not always be realistic. If teenagers used the internet for its benefits, they would remove all potential drawbacks.