In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that technology will revolutionize the transportation sector and that we are going to see fully autonomous driving vehicles where passengers are the only commuters. I believe that this development comes with many pros that outweigh the cons. In the foreseeable future, people are forecasting the introduction of self-driven cars, buses and even trucks, that passengers will have the vehicles all for themselves without having to deal with suspicious and creepy drivers, particularly girls who are constantly cautious and fear when calling for an uber drive. Moreover, driverless vehicles are most likely to be regulated to follow traffic codes resulting in fewer route hazards as well as reducing the risk of car crashes. For instance, most car accidents are attributed to irresponsible behaviours such as driving while drunk or not respecting the speed limit. Therefore, this long-awaited innovation will have many positive effects both on the security of passengers as well as put an end to traffic law violations. In contrast, the main problem that would result from such development would be the loss of many jobs which might increase the unemployment rate. In other words, jobs like taxi or bus drivers would be redundant and useless since they are going to be replaced by technology and artificial intelligence. For example, many uber companies that employ hundreds of employees will face financial hardships and may go into bankruptcy. Consequently, many families will find themselves on the street in some worst cases. In conclusion, technology is taking over many fields and is predicted to invade the transport sector as well and that means of transport will be driverless. This can be detrimental to some particular jobs but it will definitely bring more gains at many levels, namely security.