Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many individuals encourage foreign exchange programs as they believe such initiatives help students in a well-rounded development, however, many have the idea that they cause problems, and can be rather distracting. In my opinion, despite the disadvantages, the advantages are more than enough to encourage students to join this exciting venture. To begin with, international exchange visits are programs that allow students from two different countries to take each other’s place in their respective schools for a semester or two. These programs provide these students an opportunity to learn about the culture and traditions, the ideologies, and the work environment of a new place, which further helps to develop critical thinking skills. Recent studies have shown that kids who participate in these programs, grow up to become more confident individuals, who are more considerate and open to new ideas. However, many individuals argue that since different countries have different curriculums, such initiatives might confuse students. Moreover, they do not guarantee the same quality of education. For instance, in medical schools in Armenia, anatomy is distributed in four semesters, whereas, in Poland, it is a two semester subject. The exchange students struggle to adjust to these curriculums, and this might lead to compromise in their knowledge. Nevertheless, I believe these issues can be overcome by proper management, and a little support from the authorities. The knowledge these children learn while living in a foreign country by themselves is invaluable. Additionally, it is not only the students who participate in the exchange who benefit, but also the other students of the class. They also get an opportunity to share their culture and learn a little bit about others. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.