As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment.

With the development of a nation, more individuals opt to purchase automobiles, and some believe such a trend has more upsides to car owners than downsides to the environment. I partly endorse this idea. First of all, it cannot be denied that owning a car makes one ’s life much easier. Taking a car shortens time to travel and people can travel in a group. Apart from this, cars allow individuals to carry more items. According to a recent survey, 70 per cent of respondents cited a car as one of the best items they had to make their life easier. Among them, about 50 per cent of people said they could not live without an automobile. This simply indicates that cars have become an important part of many people’s lives and they enjoy the benefits of owning one. However, it is also true that cars have been pointed out as one of the main sources of pollution. Despite the advancement of technologies, many vehicles still emit toxic elements in the air as a result of consuming fossil fuels. In addition, a large amount of car parts cannot be recycled, which means they end up being buried under the ground and possibly contaminating the soil. In fact, a study conducted by Seoul National University shows that residents in a city with higher car ownership tend to suffer more from diseases related to air pollution than those from car -free towns. It shows a close tie between the car operation and its negative impact on nature. To sum up, it is true that many individuals have benefited from owning cars, but automobiles are still one of the main factors that hurt the environment. For these reasons, I believe buying more cars has more cons to the environment than pros to those who purchase them.