Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Nowadays the dramatic influence of technological advances on humanity is unquestionable. These improvements are seen by some people as the negative aspect that makes the difference between the rich and the poor more discernible, whereas others hold diametrically opposite opinions. In my estimation, both points of view can be truthful because they are strongly interconnected. On the one hand, proponents argue that technological progress has significantly enlarged the distinction between the lower class and the upper class. As the first explication it should be mentioned that the latter can effortlessly access most of the cutting edge inventions or enhancements which greatly facilitate their lives. Consequently, the living standards of the rich will considerably raise and presumably overtake the quality of the lives of the indigent. For example, such technological achievements as smart homes and self-driving cars can provide absolute comfort for wealthy people, while the dispossessed have to use public transport and, therefore, feel certain uneasiness as a part of the daily routine, as well as rent poor-quality flats that from time to time have no basic facilities such as hot water or regular central heating. In contrast, other people believe that technologies actually enable people to overcome social distances and get to the top of social hierarchy. One of the essential advances in technology, which is available to most of the population and widely used by different social classes, is free access to the Internet. Although a considerable amount of rubbishy commercials, harmful programmes and daft content can be observed there, the Internet can provide diverse educational courses and professional development programmes, which can serve as the way to prepare for applying to top universities or well-paid positions in multinational corporations. As a result, even impoverished people can accede a higher social position and in perspective approach or become a part of the upper class, if they have enough diligence and willpower, use proper materials and get the maximum benefit from the available resources. For instance, such people can use Khan Academy, a free international website that provides a vast variety of lessons that are not exactly rocket science and address completely different domains, from Maths and Economics to History and Arts. In conclusion, it is obvious that advances in technology have doubtlessly impacted the social position of the poor in relation to the position of the rich. However, the character of this influence is still a subject of ongoing debate. I strongly believe that at times getting access to the latest technological achievements can be highly sophisticated for the lower classes, which proves that progress increases the gap between people with different levels of well-being. However, it is possible to minimize this difference because ultimate success depends more on personal character traits, strong desires, and readiness to put efforts into long-term goals, than on the social background.