Should long term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do vouluntary work to give something back to society?

The government is responsible for the welfare of every citizen in the country; this also includes those who have been unemployed for a longer period of time. However, there has been an ongoing debate, on whether the job-seeker should be involved in volunteer work or not. My views are inclined towards voluntary work. In the upcoming paragraphs, one is going to discuss the viewpoints and evolve a conclusion from them. To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons why an employed person should take up non-paid jobs. Firstly, the person is already receiving allowances and benefits from the government meaning the basic needs are already being taken care of. Hence, it is a moral responsibility of a person to do something for the benefit of society. Secondly, this will allow the government to reduce their expenses. For instance, the UK have several care homes for elderly people. The government is already spending a huge sum amount on welfare. However, If anyone with good intentions decides to offer help then it will allow the authority to save a lot of money. On the contrary, The unemployed status affects the person ’s self-esteem as well as confidence. The voluntary work gives them an opportunity to socialize and utilize their skills. such as, communication skills, managerial skills, and team-building skills. The experience can be used in future when they start working and even they can mention the same in their CV. To conclude, The government needs money for swift execution. This money comes from direct or indirect taxes that civilians are paying. Thus, If a person is not working for a longer period of time and if they are physically fit for working then they should support by doing charitable jobs.