Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some teachers that encouraging student exchange on an international level would be useful for young learners attending school. This trend may have many perks but they do not outweigh its cons. Teachers deem that high- school students should have the choice to go to exchange school programs to resume their studies in other foreign countries since it will be an enriching and unique experience. In other words, these kinds of collaborations between different worldwide institutions will allow learners to discover new cultures and improve their linguistic skills much needed when pursuing higher education degrees. For instance, students are challenged daily to speak the spoken language of that nation, which definitely improves their fluency. Moreover, students who leave their homes to resettle in a totally new environment would learn how to be independent and face any possible hurdles, as well as develop a sense of responsibility. Hence, there are many good reasons to push teenage school students to engage in international student exchange programs. In contrast, two main drawbacks can result from such initiatives, firstly, some youngsters may feel homesick and get overwhelmed with all the tasks they have to fulfil at once and fail to manage between studies and house chores which can affect their performances in school. For example, the brusque change in the lifestyle particularly at that critical young age could negatively affect the well-being of some students. Secondly, some teenagers can not integrate with their new environment whether because of cultural shock or due to their personal traits. For example, it is hard for an introvert to socialize or make new friends resulting in isolation or even depression. Consequently, these collaborations aren't made for everyone and can be detrimental to some students. In conclusion, while some teachers hold to the importance of supporting and encouraging scholars to participate in international programs because of the numerous benefits they will get, it might have counterproductive results that affect their educational performances. For those reasons, I believe that the disadvantages did outweigh the advantages.