A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

With new inventions and growing technology, living standards around the globe have risen to quite an extent in the last few decades. However, experts believe that the higher living standards are only benefiting cities and not the countryside. This essay will explicate the issues that it can lead to and then discuss the possible solutions to overcome the problems. To commence with the problems, one of the major problems it causes is people migrating to cities leaving behind their towns and villages seeking a better quality of life. This mass migration to cities causes a shortage of houses due to which forests are being cut down to create more housing spaces causing deforestation. In addition to that, the rise in population in a particular area increases the pollution causing certain health issues. Overall, it negatively impacts the environment and the economy of the country. However, the above concerns could be avoided if the government can take some measures that can add to the development of rural areas in the same way as cities. For instance, building good schools and universities in the countryside will help in the development of small towns and more skilled people would consider staying in those areas. In addition to that, there should be good healthcare facilities, uninterrupted water and electricity supplies, and a well-connected transportation system. Along with the above-mentioned necessities, the government should try to build sports and entertainment centres for people to participate while not at work. To summarize, today cities are the main point of focus for the implementation of modern facilities which is benefiting the cities but bringing numerous problems along with it. To avoid this, it is needed that equal importance is given to the small towns and villages.