Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective

We have got only one Earth, but do we care? Undeniably, people around the world are demanding clean air and partly car-free streets. Considering this, still amplifying fuel price doesn't seem a viable approach. I strongly disagree with the elevation of gasoline price because it will have drastic effects on commodity transition costs and emerge of inflated prices of different products in the market. To begin with, I strongly believe that fuel price increase would substantially lead to a surge in transition fees which has a direct effect on the cost of raw materials in the supply circle. There would be a probable decline, however, in consumers purchasing power which can lead to societal dissatisfaction. In other words, not only people lose the comfort to provide the needs of everyday life, but also the circulation of money would be incomplete and insufficient in the society. Another point to consider is that a rise in gasoline price seems to be a short-term solution. Although, it might have immediate effect such as giving streets back to the pedestrians, it doesn't ensure that everyone would like to embrace the change regardless of his financial resources. Moreover, if we want cleaner and unoccupied cities, there must be strategies to prioritize active mobility like biking and walking which need necessary infrastructures to nudge people away from their personal cars. In conclusion, amplifying the fuel price might be helpful for a short period but ultimately it brings a lot of issues in the long run. If there is a wish to advance more comfortable cities, imposing restrictions and providing indispensable changes needs applying practical policies that can be approachable for everyone.