Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

Human beings need food to survive. As the years pass this essential commodity is becoming more scarce, due to various reasons. This essay will mention a few causes and highlight ways to combat these problems. It is a well-known fact that the world is more populated now than a few decades ago. With this in mind, we can come to the conclusion that more mouths to feed means more food required. One way we can meet the population's demand is by planting more. If we encourage the farming sector by improving their quality of life and work environment, they will surely be more motivated to keep farming and this would result in more food production. For example, we can look at farmers in most western counties, they have better machines to aid them in the farming process, and therefore they produce more products than most developing countries in Africa. Another way reason for the shortage of food is our lack of care for our world and surrounding. Soil pollution is a major issue. The food we eat comes from the ground and if we constantly pollute these lands how can we produce a sufficient amount. Most of our lands are so damaged, that they can barely be used as farming sites. So, if we want to preserve our way of life, we need to come up with solutions to rectify the damage done to these lands. One way of doing this is by recycling and minimizing the use of damaging products. We need to act quickly and spread awareness to avoid further damage. To conclude, even though overpopulation and pollution are some of the main causes of food shortage, they are not problems without solutions. However, the international community needs to act swiftly and solve these problems, they can start by looking at the solutions proposed above.