In some countries, people these days spend little time with their children. What are the causes of this? Whome does this affect more, parents or children?

There is an increasing trend that parents spend less time accompanying with their children in some fast-growing and heavily populated countries, such as India and China. There are various reasons for this circumstance. From an objective perspective, most parents with low employee bargaining power in some developing countries are facing large pressure to make a living. This phenomenon is common in some labour-intensive countries. Low bargaining power requires them to work around the clock to earn a salary meeting basic needs, rendering limited time accompanying their children. From a subjective perspective, some parents are educated to prioritize their personal career growth over their children's well-being. For example, compared to those affluent parents demanding the next generation to extend family honour, the countries with more middle-class parents attach less importance to this conventional thought but hold the value of experiencing their own life as much as they can. In my opinion, children would become victims of this phenomenon. Firstly, compared to those who have frequent interactions with parents, children without fewer opportunities might be less capable of building rapport and connections with others through effective communication skills. This will be harmful for their intelligent growth in the long run. Secondly, lack of accompany from parents has adverse effects on their mental health. Those children with tight relationships with their parents seem to be more optimistic when encountering obstacles. Those children with loose relationships might assume no backup or less support to conquer the challenges under adverse psychological hints. In conclusion, the lack of parents in some countries might be driven by subjective and objective factors and this will be detrimental to children's well-being.